Mirror mirror on the wall – whose foot sickles most of all?

This week’s correction at the studio class was regarding hair. “Hair should be in a bun and not a ponytail.  It is too distracting when it swooshes around.” Interesting because the dress code for the studio class is more laid back than the college class.  I’m the only person wearing a leotard and tights.  That was the only correction I received for the whole class – which is kind of disappointing.  I know there was a lot more I could have done better, but only that one comment on hair.  I understand that it is a fine balance for the teacher. How much do you correct in the recreational adult classes?  Over do it and some people could find it too discouraging or embarrassing and will stop showing up.  Not enough and students feel like they are not taken seriously.  Our teacher made the comment that we should use the mirror and be our own harshest critic, but that only works when we’re in the center because it’s hard to even see the mirror while standing at the barre let alone correct oneself.

One response to “Mirror mirror on the wall – whose foot sickles most of all?

  1. I too would feel so disappointed if the only correction I got in a class was to do with my hair! I’ve just started ballet again (unexpectedly) at 40 and the key reason I’m thoroughly enjoying it is because our teacher is constantly correcting us and pushing us to our individual limits. He says “I treat you all as professionals because no matter what your age, you can always improve.” We all love him for it, and we do appreciate that we are very lucky to have him as our teacher, as we know that many other adult ballet teachers do not hold that same view. Many see adults as being recreational dancers without any chance of becoming professionals, so why bother? Yet, if you ask a majority of adult ballet dancers, we all thrive on being corrected and seeing ourselves improve.

    One of my classmates have even been told before – “just be glad that you’re able to make it to class” and sadly, this is not an uncommon occurrence, from what I’ve read on other blogs.

Leave a Reply

